Skip Navigation
We are currently testing a new website »» Preview Our New Site ««

Election Office

The Crofting Commission Elections 2017

The first crofting elections took place in 2012 and the next election will be held in 2017. Elections are held every five years to elect six board members to the Crofting Commission. Each croft is entitled to one vote, with crofters of multiple crofts having only one vote.

The electoral area is divided into six constituencies, and each constituency must elect one member (see Constituency Boundary Map (PDF, 78K)).

  • Shetland
  • Orkney and Caithness
  • East Highlands (East Sutherland, Easter Ross, East Inverness and Moray)
  • Western Isles
  • West Highlands (West Sutherland, Wester Ross. Skye and Lochalsh)
  • South West Highlands (Lochaber, Argyll and Bute, Arran and Cumbrae, Small Isles)

The contested elections will be conducted by postal ballot, under the alternative vote system.

The count will take place in Stornoway at 10.00am on Friday 17 March 2017.

Replacement Postal Packs

A number of replacement postal packs have been issued for the Crofting Commission Election. Due to an error by external printers, a number of the original postal packs issued had an incomplete address.

If you are one of the electors to receive a replacement postal pack, you must complete the ballot paper contained within this pack as the previously issued ballot paper has now been cancelled. For further assistance please refer to the Qs & As.

Electors who do not receive a replacement pack are unaffected.
All electors
are reminded to return their completed packs by 4pm on Thursday 16 March 2017.

Contact Details

Election Office
Council Offices
Sandwick Road
Isle of Lewis
Tel:  01851 822613