Skip Navigation
We are currently testing a new website »» Preview Our New Site ««

Election Office

Scottish Parliament and Local Government

What Ward am I in?

The final recommendation of the Local Government Boundary Commission for Scotland was that the Western Isles Council area should comprise nine electoral wards with thirty one elected members.

Currently there are thirty one wards and thirty one Councillors respectively, duly elected to represent each of those wards but, in May 2007, candidates will stand for election in one of the nine multi-member wards for Na h-Eileanan an Iar as shown below.

New Wards

New Wards Map

Steòrnabhagh ward boundary

For a detailed look at the new Western Isles wards, corresponding maps are available for download below. The ward maps are provided by the Local Government Boundary Commission for Scotland.

(NB: The maps are in Adobe Acrobat PDF format and are large files, up to  6MB in size. It may be more effective to save a map to your computer prior to viewing it with the Adobe Acrobat Viewer.)


Ward Maps
Map Ward No. Gaelic Name English Name Members
Ward 1 Map (PDF, 1.85Mb)
Ward 1 Barraigh, Bhatarsaigh, Eirisgeigh agus Uibhist a Deas Barra, Vatersay, Eriskay & South Uist 4
Ward 2 Map (PDF, 1.78Mb) Ward 2 Beinn na Foghla agus Uibhist a Tuath Benbecula & North Uist 3
Ward 3 Map (PDF, 3.1Mb) Ward 3 Na Hearadh agus Ceann a Deas nan Loch Harris & South Lochs 3
Ward 4 Map (PDF, 2.58Mb) Ward 4 Sgir' Uige agus Ceann a Tuath nan Loch Uig & North Lochs 3
Ward 5 Map (PDF, 5.43Mb) Ward 5 Sgire an Rubha Point 3
Ward 6 Map (PDF, 2.59Mb) Ward 6 Steòrnabhagh a Deas Stornoway (South) 4
Ward 7 Map (PDF, 4.45Mb) Ward 7 Steòrnabhagh a Tuath Stornoway (North) 4
Ward 8 Map (PDF, 6.61Mb) Ward 8 Loch a Tuath Broadbay 3
Ward 9 Map (PDF, 5.61Mb) Ward 9 An Taobh Siar agus Nis Westside & Ness 4


If you are unsure of your new ward please contact the Electoral Registration Officer at:


42 Point Street
Isle of Lewis

Phone: 01851 706262
Fax: 01851 706843